Why Write? Why Not?

“When I was a little boy, they called me a liar, but now that I am grown up, they call me a writer” (Isaac Singer).

Writing can have a number of powerful effects on somebody. Everybody reads and writes for different reasons. The reason I write is because it is a way to use my imagination. I am always thinking of little stories in my head. Even when I am telling a story to a group of friends I tend to add events and embellish certain aspects because I think it makes the story more interesting. A lot of life is boring, so we as writers try to make it more interesting. It also allows us to view life differently and put us in different shoes. This is the reason I read. I want to experience things that I never have and the only way I could is through literature. I am never going to go searching for a white whale or fight wizards, but now I know what it would be like.

I think all writers are liars. Even ones who write non-fiction because they usually try to have the readers sympathize with characters and may slightly alter their persona. But that is ok because you should never let the truth get in the way of a good story.


(Photo by Bigstock)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

